News and an update on ep. 1.04

Due to annoying social constraints and a nasty case of brain fry I didn’t have a show up last week (nor has this weeks “Amazing!” post made it up yet…It will tonight). Life sucks and we move forward, right?

This weeks episode, which will exist, I’m going to be talking about a few things that have popped up in the news recently that have splintered themselves firmly into my mind.

Firstly the issue of religious morals vs. workplace ethics. There’s a contingent in California whom seem to think their religious views are on trial because they’re being ‘forced’ to do things against what they hold spiritually sacred. Most of them are doctors whom work in family planning  type clinics…so you can see where that ones headed.

Secondly the general state of politics in America. I made a blog post a while back condemning the DNC for ignoring the godless vote and I have a little more to say on the issue. Sarah Palin has been named the GOP veep nominee so I’ll be giving my two-cents worth on that, what it means for the McCaininites and the country overall, among other things.

I’ve got a few shorter bits as well but those will likely be the meat and potatoes.

In other news…

BrotherRichard over at Atheist Nexus has started to pull together some user created podcasts into what’s being called “Atheist Nexus Radio”. My little show, along with the hepcats over at Chariots of Iron, are the first two ‘inductees’ under this banner. There are a number of good podcasters active on A|N so I imagine that the list will be growing. None of the shows involved are changing or anything at this point but I wouldn’t be surprised if something grander came of it down the line. In light of this I’ve created a group on Atheist Nexus for listeners to throw feedback at me or have discussions about the shows content in a community setting.

Neece, formerly of Believers Anonymous, and myself have combined creative forces on another blog called Heaving Dead Cats. She’s a damn fine thinker so check it out when you have the time to do so. The name lends itself to a 1924 quote by HL Mencken:

The liberation of the human mind has never been furthered by such learned dunderheads; it has been furthered by gay fellows who heaved dead cats into sanctuaries and then went roistering down the highways of the world, proving to all men that doubt, after all, was safe—that the god in the sanctuary was finite in his power, and hence a fraud.

I’ve been cross-posting some content from here but I will be doing some original stuff their from time to time. We’re looking for regular writers and artists as well as original submissions. If you’d like to contribute please stop by this page read what we have to say.

That, as they say, is that. The next post of my “Amazing!” series will be up tonight, featuring the formidable and wholly destructive Krupp ‘Bagger 288’.

Leave a Reply

